Water.

Multiplying your cacti vegetatively.
Heather

Water.

Post by Heather »

I just need to be clear on this please. When potting a cutting, rooted or un-rooted do I water or not? Should I wait a couple of weeks before watering?
Sorry, this may seem like a really stupid question but I am a complete newbie to this. :oops:
CactusFanDan

Re: Water.

Post by CactusFanDan »

Rooted or unrooted, for any cactus, I'd leave them a week or two after repotting before resuming watering. This gives the roots enough time to heal over any damage caused to them when transplanting. :) If you water them too soon, fungi and bacteria can get into the wound and cause an infection (rot).

I think people are divided about watering unrooted cuttings or not. Some say a little water in the soil mix when they're resting on the soil can help to encourage rooting, while others prefer to wait it out using dry soil mix. I add a splash of water to the soil mix of the plant I'm trying to root. It seems to encourage rooting, but it's important not to moisten the soil too much and to use a very well draining soil mix. :) As you're in the UK, you may or may not have heard of the best (or one of the best) medium for growing cacti in. A lot of growers like to use Tesco cat litter in their soil mix, or some use it completely neat from the bag. The kind you want comes as small pink/orange pellets that can't be crushed between your fingers. It comes in a pink bag and it's called 'Tesco dust-free, lightweight cat litter'. I believe it's also sold at the Co-op. It's cheap and makes excellent cactus compost. :)
-Dan
Happy growing!

There is always one more glochid. Somewhere.
My C&S blog
Heather

Post by Heather »

Many thanks Dan! :)
Peterthecactusguy

Post by Peterthecactusguy »