Im new to it all and need some help

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
WallOfShadows

Im new to it all and need some help

Post by WallOfShadows »

Hey everyone,

Ive liked Cacti since I was a kid and decided to try out my green thumb and grow a few. But, I already semi screwed it up and want a bit of clarification.

im using small clay pots for germination, 6 in total (one seed in each pot.) I did a search online for a simple growing tek and used one where you create a mini-green house in a tupperware container. The problem is, when I went home the other day, I found the soil to be overly saturated instead of just moist. I drained the access water and let the soil dry out a little bit before placing them back in the mini-green house.

My question to you is, if i screw the germination up in the above mentioned way, are my seeds going to germinate, or do I have to start over?

By the way, the cacti are desert cacti.
Tony

Post by Tony »

If they havent germinated yet, they cant be to wet. I wouldnt worry bout it, until they germinate, then you dont want the soil to be soaking wet, just slightly moist
Forget the dog...Beware of the plants!!!

Tony
daiv
Site Admin

Post by daiv »

Well don't worry too much. High humidity is essential to get most (all) seedlings to germinate. It is after they germinate that you have to be more careful -more so as they grow. Of course if it is too wet, that is not a good thing, but you also don't want them drying out either.

Now I have yet to prove myself with seed growing, so you are bound to get more helpful info than this, but I figured I could offer you some relief for now... :)
All Cacti are succulents, but not all succulents are Cacti
WallOfShadows

Post by WallOfShadows »

Thanks to both of you for the speedy reply! Its good to know that i havent completely messed this up just yet :P