All inorganic soil mix for beginners?

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
Shane

All inorganic soil mix for beginners?

Post by Shane »

I'm thinking about trying an all mineral soil mix, which I've never done before. I'm looking for suggestions. I have pumice (about ¼-½ inch)
[EDIT] My "pumice" is probably better described as "lava rock" or "lava" (I believe what I have could more technically called "Scoria")
perlite, small gravel (crushed granite a bit smaller than aquarium gravel) and slow release fertilizer pellets. I was thinking I'd just do straight up pumice (with fertilizer) to see how it works. I have a Parodia picked out that I think should be able to handle any mistakes I make

What are people's thoughts on this? And any beginner advice in general on mineral mixes?
Last edited by Shane on Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Los Angeles, California (USA)
Zone 10b (yearly minimum temperature 1-5° C)

Fishhook cacti are like cats, they only like to be petted in one direction
bartab

Re: All inorganic soil mix for beginners?

Post by bartab »

I know some people advocate all pumice but I find it easy to tip over in winds that I get here, and 1/2 inch pumice seems awfully large to me. I know everybody has their perfect blend and I have fun by trying different mixes. This summer I am using equal parts pumice, lava, and decomposed granite. These are all easy for me to find local so that is a factor. If I need to add soil for plants that need it I can just add to this mixture. Again, I’m not claiming this is the end all. I use liquid fertilizer when I water.
pumice, lava, granite
pumice, lava, granite
AD860FBA-47CC-497B-B36D-A507AB18C0F3.jpeg (292.57 KiB) Viewed 1300 times
mixed
mixed
09B3510A-FE6C-4B95-99F8-22859DF39698.jpeg (297.84 KiB) Viewed 1300 times
in a pot with a plant from Miles.
in a pot with a plant from Miles.
8DDE9443-46E4-4BBA-9542-EF938DDD7C50.jpeg (235.98 KiB) Viewed 1300 times