Cacti roots

Discuss hardy cacti grown outside all year.
Mike B.

Cacti roots

Post by Mike B. »

As a relatively new member and since I'm pretty new to cacti...just how deep do cacti roots grow? I guess some may go deeper than others? I am asking because I have this old red wagon in the back yard and I suppose it's maybe 4 inches deep, is that deep enough to plant cacti and allow room for their roots? Thanks!
Brunãozinho

Re: Cacti roots

Post by Brunãozinho »

How deep the roots of cacti grow depends on a lot of factors.

In general, cacti like to settle their roots in a place where water won't accumulate for long periods of time, but also where they would be able to absorb water even it rains just a few.
In habitat, many species develop roots that are some meters long, but that don't go deeper than a few centimeters.
But there are many species in many different habitat conditions, and that doesn't apply to all of them.

I think you have many options for planting cacti in that red wagon, are you thinking of any species in particular?
Bruno
Mike B.

Post by Mike B. »

I'm thinking about some that are cold hardy, ones I could leave outside year round. Perhaps some Opuntia, Escobaria, Echinocereus. Ones that are flowering. I'm thinking that having them in that red wagon would make it easier to move about. I could move it under some shelter or into the sun very easily. But most likely I'll probably just park it on the back patio.

I'm thinking that drilling a few holes in the bottom of that wagon might be a good idea.
oldcat61

Post by oldcat61 »

We need to know where you are. Also, what might be hardy in a well-drained bed is not the same as above ground in a pot ( in your case, wagon ). You will need to do a lot of research, not just hardiness but soil mixtures & what species do well in shallow containers. The metal of the wagon will also heat up more than a glazed or plastic pot, so that is another problem. Sue
greenknight

Post by greenknight »