Outdoor bed in SWLA in progress

Discuss hardy cacti grown outside all year.
CactusSquirrel

Outdoor bed in SWLA in progress

Post by CactusSquirrel »

I am building an outdoor bed for cacti and succulents so far I have the grass stripped (more need to go) and a bit of the clay soil removed. The idea came from something I saw on the web of an alpine rock garden that was made in Florida to manage the rain and humidity. The plan is to dig out some of the dirt to lay in a layer of drainage rocks, then put in a border of cinder blocks or large rocks and fill in with a very well draining mix, put the plants in then cover with a layer of decorative rocks. I am still sourcing material for the soil mix. I am in Louisiana in zone 8b. Not terribly cold but can be rainy and humid and cold all at once for a small part of the year. Any suggestions or advice are greatly appreciated. I am new to keeping C&S and have been gardening for only a year otherwise.

"Why are you always petting the cactuses?"
"I dunno, I just like to."
MJPapay

Re: Outdoor bed in SWLA in progress

Post by MJPapay »

Here is what I use in my raised beds:

(1) Barrel Cactus mix: (1-part leafmold compost) + (1-part sharp pea-gravel)

(2) Opuntiad mix: (1-part lean topsoil) + (1-part sharp pea-gravel)

by "lean topsoil" I mean "not clayey"

Here's another thing to keep in mind - in general a cactus will have shallow roots, so you don't need lots of cactus mix in a raised bed. What you do need to do is provide them with excellent drainage, and this can be accomplished by placing cobbles of rocks in a pile and putting the cactus mix in and over them. However, most of my raised beds are just lots of cactus mix heaped up, with 3 or 4-inches of pea-gravel as mulch.
CactusSquirrel

Post by CactusSquirrel »