Trying to identify for months.. Kalanchoe?

If you have a succulent plant and need help identifying it, this is the place to post it.
shashie88

Trying to identify for months.. Kalanchoe?

Post by shashie88 »

I'm totally out of my element here because I have no experience with identifying plants, but I think I've finally narrowed it down. My mom got this plant as a gift about a year ago, and she gave it to me in the summer. I've been trying to identify it since. She recently told me it had orange flowers on it when she received it.

Is this a kalanchoe of some sort? It also seems to resemble a hoya plant. Since this photo was taken 2 of the 3 plants in the pot have died. I can't remember how the first one died and the second one got mushy at the base and some of the stems turned black near their bases (too much water?). However, I was able to propagate one of the stems in the pot so now I've got two plants again along with a sprout that shot up about 2 weeks ago. Now that I know it's a succulent (I think ](*,) ) I have a much better idea of how to take care of it, but I want to know exactly what type of succulent it is so I can care for it properly. I think one of the problems is that the pot it came in doesn't have adequate drainage. If I repot, should I separate the two plants or repot them into the same pot? Or is it a matter of preference? And what size pot would you recommend? They're currently in a 9" pot.

Thanks very much!
Attachments
I hope this photo doesn't show up sideways - if so, I'm sorry!
I hope this photo doesn't show up sideways - if so, I'm sorry!
photo (1).JPG (155.83 KiB) Viewed 1411 times
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (145.52 KiB) Viewed 1411 times
shashie88

Re: Trying to identify for months.. Kalanchoe?

Post by shashie88 »