rooting Pterocactus cuttings

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
ohugal

rooting Pterocactus cuttings

Post by ohugal »

I'm about to order some Pterocactus cuttings this week. I find them really interesting plants, but seeds seem hard to locate. Also, I have no experience with sowing yet. Does anyone have any experience with rooting Pterocactus cuttings? Is there something is should pay attention to? Temperatures are dropping here. My cactusroom is now 15°C (59°F) and very airy. We maybe have one sunny day a week. Besides that is raining all the time.
temperate, maritime climate with mild winters and cool summers
hardiness zone 8a
anttisepp

Re: rooting Pterocactus cuttings

Post by anttisepp »

My P tuberosus roots as a weed. :)
DaveW

Post by DaveW »

They root OK. I have around 12 including most of the species, but like all tuberous rooted plants when rooting they appear to just sit there for a while not making much top growth until a tuber forms below the soil. Also, you probably know that unlike most cacti the flowers are terminal on the stems and when they fall off, they leave a cavity so that stem cannot grow further but often will put out a shoot or flower like an offset below.

Note the cavity in the stem end from last year's flower and a new stem and flower from the side this year.

Pterocactus-HPT-791.jpg
Pterocactus-HPT-791.jpg (33.71 KiB) Viewed 1287 times

The stems sometimes have a habit of drying up at the tips but if lost or broken off will usually regenerate from the root the next year since they are often deciduous in habitat. Very interesting plants, but most can hardly be described as show plants out of flower due to their straggly growth.

They do have quite nice flowers and stand cool conditions since Patagonia where most come from is a windy and cool place.

reticulatus01.jpg
reticulatus01.jpg (121.05 KiB) Viewed 1287 times