Stock for Tephrocactus Geometricus

All about grafting. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
Hero878

Stock for Tephrocactus Geometricus

Post by Hero878 »

I have a tiny two ball Tephrocactus Geometricus that has done nothing for over a year.
I have no experience with grafting but seen wonderful results and have started to appreciate it.

I have an opuntias subulata, myrtillocactus geometrizan would either of these suffice? Or would you advice finding a different stock?

I am guessing myrtillo would be more suitable as it's more sturdy to physically hold up a two ball tephro.

I am thinking to graft two tiny Uebelmannia cacti onto the subulatas.

Any advice would be appreciated.
anttisepp

Re: Stock for Tephrocactus Geometricus

Post by anttisepp »

In your situation I'd choose subulata for them due to relative ties.
PS But IMHO better is to grow on own roots. In relatively big pots with good watering and fertilizers , in greenhouse they grow as on steroids. :)
PSPS but they may be very slow at beginning.
greenknight

Post by greenknight »

Agreed - before resorting to grafting (it's the wrong time of year in the northern hemisphere, anyway), see what's up with the root system. Had a poster this spring with a similar problem, he'd simply been sold a start than had hardly any roots. The solution in that case was to actually reduce the space in the pot with some rocks - see: http://www.cactiguide.com/forum/viewtop ... us#p386037

If you do decide to graft it, subulata would be most suitable, according to Craig Fry - see: https://www.cactiguide.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=36824
Spence :mrgreen:
Hero878

Post by Hero878 »

Thanks for the replies. Yes I heard it maybe too late to graft in September. Someone told me to only do it during months of the year without a letter R in :)
The root system is quite vast actually. Everytime I think it's about to grow it's actually developing some random scars...one can be visible in the photo below