When to transplant / repotting in winter

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
tasuccs

When to transplant / repotting in winter

Post by tasuccs »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the world of growing plants and succulents - spring's quarantines seemingly awoke a latent obsession that quickly spiraled into a frenzy of buying and propagating plants in containers that, to the bewilderment of my poor girlfriend, quickly filled every well-lit surface of our balcony and house (family photo at the bottom, missing some larger succulents, props and houseplants).

Not wanting my newly acquired collection to die on me, I've been reading voraciously to get ahead of the learning curve. While timing pruning and watering seems pretty clear, or at least, I know what to look for within my trial and error, I've struggled to find consistent advice about when the right time is to pot up succulents (assuming they're getting too big for their homes). There seem to be a few schools of thought:
1) A plant that is vigorously growing is more likely to bounce back quickly, repot in spring when plants are ramping up but water stress is minimal,
2) Better to repot a dormant plant that has low water needs than stress a plant in the middle of bud formation,
3) It doesn't really matter, repot whenever you feel that it's necessary, just be careful with watering-in.
I'd love to hear people's approaches and what has worked for them with respect to the climate where they live (I live in a hot Mediterranean climate, zone Csa/10b)

I bought quite a few succulents in the past couple of months, and figured I'd better wait until spring to repot, but recently checked and some of them are clearly becoming root bound - so any specific advice on those would be greatly appreciated:
- actively growing: euphorbia mammillaris, curio repens
- seemingly asleep: notocactus (herteri?), Stapelia (?)