Not enough RAM message Photoshop or Elements

Discuss cameras, settings, composition, or anything related to photography - cactus or other subjects.
Post Reply
DaveW
Posts: 7074
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Location: Nottingham, England/UK

Not enough RAM message Photoshop or Elements

Post by DaveW »

I uploaded Windows 10 update 1803 and immediately started getting not enough RAM messages in my Photoshop Elements 14 when I tried to process an image. There was no problem before this update. Evidently it is a known problem for many Photoshop or Elements users and neither Microsoft or Adobe seem to be coming forward with a patch.

The following video shows the problem users are getting in both Photoshop and Elements and the only fix available at the moment seems to be to edit the Registry since the problem and fix are exactly the same in both Photoshop and Elements, as in the video below (obviously putting in your version of Photoshop or Elements where required and evidently you have to use the 32bit tab, whether your computer is 32bit or 64bit since some claim it does not work if the 64bit tab is used).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRIQMUzGXGA

For further background see:-

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 1a056d2cfc

https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2423579

Editing the Registry is not advised unless you know what you are doing, therefore you may need to find a competent person to do it for you like the local computer shop.
gregpoulsenn
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:41 am

Re: Not enough RAM message Photoshop or Elements

Post by gregpoulsenn »

Hi there
Thanks alot for useful topic.
I advice you to check new info about best photo edting software. I guess you will surprise.
http://fixthephoto.com/best-photo-editing-software.html
Cheers
Greg
DaveW
Posts: 7074
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Location: Nottingham, England/UK

Re: Not enough RAM message Photoshop or Elements

Post by DaveW »

My computer programmer friend did the Registry tweak and no further trouble since. Although quite a few Windows updates since then. But whether Microsoft had also solved it with a later patch in the updates I do not know.
Post Reply