So I decided to sow

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
mmcavall

So I decided to sow

Post by mmcavall »

I have a set of cacti and mesembs seeds, and feel each day more and more inclined to sow then. I have no experience, so this thread will have much more questions than results, but I hope having something to share with people here.

As I have about 40 species to sow, I think it would be wise to sow in small groups of about 6 species each time, instead of trying to do all in a single day.

Having this in mind, I would like to have advices about with which species start, and which species should be left waiting. I would start next week and may took several weeks to sow all, so we would reach September, which is much hotter than July/August.

In other words, the first group of species would ideally prefer relatively cool weather, and the last group would prefer relatively warm weather. Any advice on any of the species below will be appreciated.

The weather forecast for the next 15 days:
Minimal Temperatures (night) range 10C - 15C (50 - 59F)
Maximal Temperatures (day) range 27C - 30C (80 - 86F)
11h of daylight, increasing

Below are the lists of cacti and mesembs.
Please any advice would be helpful.

CACTI
Acanthocalycium spiniflorum
Astrophytum capricorne
Echinocereus fitchii
Gymnocalycium mazanense
Gymnocalycium quehlianum
Gymnocalycium schickendantzii
Gymnocalycium spegazzinii
Lobivia aurea
Lobivia haematantha var. corrugata
Lobivia pentlandii
Notocactus leninghausii
Notocactus magnificus
Notocactus mammulosus
Notocactus submammulosus
Notocactus turececkianus
Rebutia pygmaea
Soehrensia bruchii
Soehrensia formosa
Trichocereus andalgalensis
Trichocereus huascha
Trichocereus pseudocandicans

MESEMBS
Cerochlamys pachyphylla
Delosperma bosseranum
Delosperma crassum
Delosperma esterhuyseniae
Glottiphyllum oligocarpum
Glottiphyllum peersii
Glottiphyllum pygmaeum
Lapidaria margaretae
Marlothistella uniondalensis