Help! Whats wrong with my Epiphyllum?

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
jml95

Help! Whats wrong with my Epiphyllum?

Post by jml95 »

Epiphyllum 1.JPG
Epiphyllum 1.JPG (52.99 KiB) Viewed 3513 times
Epiphyllum 2.JPG
Epiphyllum 2.JPG (45.99 KiB) Viewed 3513 times
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the orchid cactus world and am a bit concerned with the condition of my orchid cactus. One of the leaves has yellowish edging and seems to be just a tiny bit softer than the other leaves. In addition, it has a few brown spots on it. Another leaf has crispy brown edges that seem to have almost ate away at the leaf. I have this epiphyllum on a humidity tray and the soil feels moist but I am only watering about 1xweekly. It gets bright light near a southern facing window but is about 6-7 feet away from the window. Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :D
kristian_Fossmo

Re: Help! Whats wrong with my Epiphyllum?

Post by kristian_Fossmo »

Looks like potassium deficiency, but it tricky to diagnos deficiencies...but the soft leaves also indicates potassium deficiency as the potassium is involved in turgor pressure...
"When the last individual of a race of living things breathes no more, another heaven and another earth must pass before such a one can be again."
William Beebe, 1906
kristian_Fossmo

Or is it overwatering?
"When the last individual of a race of living things breathes no more, another heaven and another earth must pass before such a one can be again."
William Beebe, 1906
jml95

Post by jml95 »

kristian_Fossmo wrote:Or is it overwatering?
Thank you for the diagnosis! I had no idea about the potential for potassium deficiency in these guys! Now I just have to determine if it is the potassium deficiency or overwatering.. :-k .