Film Photography

Discuss cameras, settings, composition, or anything related to photography - cactus or other subjects.
JamesEG

Film Photography

Post by JamesEG »

I wondered if anyone still shoots film, I managed to get my hands on a lovely Nikon FM2n last year, as well as a motor drive and a nice little set of lenses (24mm, 50mm and 105mm). I love using it, and even though I really enjoy using my Canon 60D DSLR for wildlife there's something about film that just makes me want to keep using it. Being a photography student, I also get access to the school darkroom to develop some of my images which is good fun :D I wouldn't mind getting a medium format camera at some point, but then it starts getting rather expensive!

Here's a few from the summer with the new camera, a bit of a cat theme, I know, but they seem to make good subjects and these photos showed off the ability of the camera and film the best from the ones I have
Whisky 2.jpg
Whisky 2.jpg (40.82 KiB) Viewed 8068 times

Helford.jpg
Helford.jpg (70.42 KiB) Viewed 8068 times

Archie.jpg
Archie.jpg (19.76 KiB) Viewed 8068 times

Kobi.jpg
Kobi.jpg (29.11 KiB) Viewed 8068 times
K.W.

Re: Film Photography

Post by K.W. »

Great photos!

Wonderful. . .

K.W.
We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.
JamesEG

Post by JamesEG »

Thanks! Much appreciated :D
DaveW

Post by DaveW »

Nice pictures James,

Nothing wrong with film it's just inconvenient, the problem in future will be the choice available and smaller sales will probably push up the cost of film stock. Also sprocket holed 35mm film was originally created for cinema use and Oskar Barnack invented the first 35mm stills camera to use it where it ran horizontally rather than vertical as in a cine camera.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/leica/oskar-barnack.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;