Cross Pollination Of Gymnocalycium's

Create seed of your own
*Barracuda_52*

Cross Pollination Of Gymnocalycium's

Post by *Barracuda_52* »

:oops: Ok stupid questions as always, can you cross pollinate G. Erinaceum to G. Dopianu? I took the pollin from 2 flowers of the G. Erinaceum and tried pollinating 2 flowers on the G. Dopianu, now the flowers on the G. Dopianu dried up and i was left with this..

Now see how the other flowers and there stem dried up but these 2 didnt. Stupid question, is that where the seeds will be or am i just stupid? :oops: This is my first time pollinating cacti :oops: and have never gotting seed from cacti befour..
A rescue dog is never to old to learn to be a real dog. Image
Loph

Post by Loph »

they could be crossed or selfed. gymnos tend to hybridize fairly easily, at least many species do. of all the ones i keep, maybe 10 species, they all seem to willingly set fruits from each others pollen. the few i have grown up do seem to be hybrids and not selfed.
Stephen Robert Irwin: 22 February 1962 – 4 September 2006. Rest In Peace.
Moonbeam

Post by Moonbeam »

I think the fruit grows on top of what's left of the stem...where the flower was/is.
Loph

Post by Loph »

yes, the green thing is the fruit where the seeds are. wait til it dries before picking.
*Barracuda_52*

Post by *Barracuda_52* »

Thanks everyone.. :D

Loph, how long does it take for those fruits to dry up, they have been the same plump green color since i posted this topic, i have a total of three of them on this cactus, one which did this after it flowerd 2 weeks past the others and i also pollinated that one with another cactus. :roll: I have a few other diffrent cactus that have done the same thing flower buds dried up and left a swollen stem do i wait on those as well to dry up to? I will snap some pics of those as soon as i get the chance and post um up just in case.
Thanks.....
Loph

Post by Loph »