When to repot Lithops

Anything relating to Succulents that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
FredBW

When to repot Lithops

Post by FredBW »

I am somewhat new to Lithops. Inherited some years ago and killed them in short order. Got these at a local nursery a few days ago.
They are in mostly organic soil,and I am wondering when do I get them out of it. Normally with a cactus caked in peat. I blast the roots clean with a garden hose. As someone in the archives put it. I'm afraid if they even see a garden hose they will rot. :)
So if I do it now without water. I will probably do severe damage to the roots because the soil is so caked. Do I wait until it's time to water when the new plant emerges so I can use water to "uncake" the soil? Just wondering what the best way to do this is.
TIA... Fred
thumbnail_IMG_1854.jpg
thumbnail_IMG_1854.jpg (64.36 KiB) Viewed 2462 times
thumbnail_IMG_1853.jpg
thumbnail_IMG_1853.jpg (71.97 KiB) Viewed 2462 times
C And D

Re: When to repot Lithops

Post by C And D »

I would just rip them apart dry
and clean off the roots best you can
leave the main root intact

I then like to let the plants rest unrooted a couple days or a week for the wounds to heal
then pot up with new soil
then wait a couple months before watering, since it's still Winter

Lithops can take normal cactus mix with some peat
as long as it dries completely
As you can see many nurseries use a high peat soil, and they do just fine,
as long as you water them at the right time

I don't water my Lithops until Late march or april
Seedlings do get water sparingly
Check out our plant and seed lists
http://www.CandDplants.com

Craig and Denise Fry
FredBW

Post by FredBW »

Thanks for the reply. I just tried to separate them and backed out. I think I would have torn the roots completely off at least one. I'll give them a few days and put them in a bigger pot with cactus soil and construction sand.