On clearance succulents

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
Zig1969

On clearance succulents

Post by Zig1969 »

This is my first year growing succulents but I'm a master gardener outside and I know what to do with plants that are in bad shape on the clearance rack. However I'm not sure what to do with succulents from the clearance rack.

I have read several articles that say don't do anything with the new plants but I always thought they were talking about healthy, good potted plants.

So my basic question is, should I clean these plants up by cutting away the bad leaves/stems and if the roots look bad, cut them away and put them in new soil (I have a succulent mix) and a new clay pot? It seems like an easy question but I feel like it isn't an easy question. Any help would be great.
anttisepp

Re: On clearance succulents

Post by anttisepp »

I say: YES! More, I care each new plant with insecticide and put it in carantine for a month.
Having some hundreds of pots it's much easier to prevent than care invasion of all collection.
bbarv

Post by bbarv »

Agree with anttisepp.
Also with any signs of root millies on a new succulents like sedums, echeverias, Aeoniums I would cut and reroot plants.
Zig1969

Post by Zig1969 »

anttisepp wrote: Tue Oct 31, 2023 5:21 pm I say: YES! More, I care each new plant with insecticide and put it in carantine for a month.
Having some hundreds of pots it's much easier to prevent than care invasion of all collection.
Thanks for the help. I will definitely do some repotting because I have several that need it.
Zig1969

Post by Zig1969 »

bbarv wrote: Tue Oct 31, 2023 7:26 pm Agree with anttisepp.
Also with any signs of root millies on a new succulents like sedums, echeverias, Aeoniums I would cut and reroot plants.
Thanks that makes things much easier and simple.
Steve Johnson

Post by Steve Johnson »

bbarv wrote: Tue Oct 31, 2023 7:26 pm Agree with anttisepp.
That's root mealies.