Nice to meet you all from Indonesia (and an overview on my plant journey)

This is a place for members to post on-going topics about their plants and experiences.
Wiandry Adi

Nice to meet you all from Indonesia (and an overview on my plant journey)

Post by Wiandry Adi »

Introduction

Greetings, members of the CactiGuide forum! I'd like to thank the CactiGuide forum team and admins for allowing me to have an account on this very forum.

You can call me Adi (Mas Adi, not Mr. Adi; or just Mas, if you don't feel like referring my name), and I currently live in Jakarta, Indonesia. I've been collecting plants since 2006, the time I was in elementary school years. However, there were many times I neglected my passion for plants in which I almost forgot to come back, though I still felt great admiration for plants. In 2019, I decided to go all out undertaking this hobby after I finally entered my last years in college. During those 3 years, during 'that unfortunate stay-in-home fiasco', I dived deep into the worlds of plants and I collected as many (affordable) plants as possible: aroids to prayer plants, as well succulents and caudiciforms.

However, after I graduated in late 2022 and eventually got a job, things seemed back to square one. I had difficulty managing time for my plants and my career + my travel plans. That's where the inspiration kicked in: succulents do the job great. They don't have to be tended often and can live in my area, which is often gets lots of heat unusual for tropical region.

What do I collect?

For years I have done lots of trials and errors and I have concluded that I fit better with select kinds of plants, in which I dubbed them 'SANAK'.

Sansevieria, Aloe, Noorses and nabooms (cacti-like Euphorbia), Adenium, and Cactus (the K is from the Indonesian word 'kaktus', self-explanatory).