How do you prep your seeds for sewing?

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
EliWhitney3140

How do you prep your seeds for sewing?

Post by EliWhitney3140 »

I am new to sewing cacti seeds and realize everyone has their own way of doing it. I would like to know how you sew your seeds and what is your success rate?
Steve-0
Location: Salt Lake Valley, Utah...high mountain desert climate

Re: How do you prep your seeds for sewing?

Post by Steve-0 »

I'm a first time seed grower myself.

This video really helped me understand the process and gave me better results than some other sources. It may not completely apply to all species.

I tried no seed pre treatment and got zero germination out of 30 seeds. Then tried the picking method prescribed in the video with better than 50% results. Then on a whim tried just poking the hilum...with 75% results.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGG2-YpGDWA

Lots of ways to sow seeds with success. I feel the pretreatment of bleaching them first is paramount to my success rates. Some of it seems a bit much. But then I saw another video in which the guy said something like over 2,000 seeds in nature don't sprout to the One that does and survives.

I think it was this guy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TlhTgscsnw

best of luck to your endeavors!

PS... since germinating a few species from Nov 20 about 6 have died.
Last edited by Steve-0 on Tue Feb 02, 2021 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EliWhitney3140

Post by EliWhitney3140 »

Steve good to see you on the board. These are great videos and I am excited to try them out.

It's funny, before I did all of this research I would just try and grow seeds to see if it would work. A dragon fruit from the store, a mammillaria that was fruiting when I bought it, some random seeds as a gift, etc. No mold, no issues at all. It's funny that sometimes the more you learn about something the more complex it becomes.
EliWhitney3140