Hi from South Africa

New to the forum? Use this section to introduce yourself!
Wise guy

Hi from South Africa

Post by Wise guy »

Hi all, thank you for permitting me to join this group.
As above, I'm from Gauteng in South Africa, and am employed in the nursery business. I'm a production manager of a wholesale bedding plant nursery, but grow cacti as a hobby. Some of my oldest must be about 40 years old, and they're all grown outside in the garden. We have a temperate climate, summer rainfall and mild temperatures with little frost in winter.
Ironically, I have only now started to experiment with growing cacti from seed, using a cactus mixed assortment from one of our seed suppliers, so it will be interesting to see what those little green and bronze blobs turn into.
Thank you for all the information shared on this forum, I look forward to learning a lot.

All the best, Mike
gemhunter178

Re: Hi from South Africa

Post by gemhunter178 »

Welcome!
A cactus and succulent collector who especially likes Ariocarpus. …Though I have a bit of everything! Want some pictures? See my flickr! I also do art and such.
Wise guy

Post by Wise guy »

Thank you Gemhunter, I'm finding the forum very interesting.
mmcavall

Post by mmcavall »

Hi Mike,
welcome to the forum! I'm from Brazil and I dont have too many people from southern hemisphere to discuss...our climate conditions are quite different from. Hope we can exchange some experience.
Wise guy

Post by Wise guy »