easy caudiciforms

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
cacti and cacti not

easy caudiciforms

Post by cacti and cacti not »

I have been growing cacti since spring 2015. Are there any suggestions for caudiciforms for me to try, particularly easy ones? I already have some non-cactus succulents. I'd like to be able to make a list of plants for me to consider growing. Any suggestions will be appreciated. This is the first post I've made in a year.
cacti and cacti not

Re: easy caudiciforms

Also, I'd like cultivation advice such as light, water, ease of care, growing season, and humidity requirements. I grow most of my plants outside, but I am willing to take half-hardy and non-hardy plants into the garage on a cold winter day.
williamsii823

Post by williamsii823 »

There are many beautiful Adeniums (Desert Roses). There's double and triple flowers, unusual colors and combinations. They're pretty easy to grow. Also, Pachypodiums, like Madagascar Palm, etc. Look these up. Both are easy to grow, inexpensive (except real exotic ones), and available all over.
Also, look up Jatropas, like "Buddha Belly", and others.
Salazar

Post by Salazar »

You could try Dorstenia foetida which have strange inflorescences often called a "shield flower" and are very easy to grow, they don't need a lot of light, mine only get indirect sunlight an they're thriving. They also like more water than the average succulent so the soil shouldn't be allowed to completely dry.
DaveW

Post by DaveW »

With a name like foetida certainly not a windowsill plant if it flowers! :lol:

http://www.latin-dictionary.net/definit ... a-foetidum
cacti and cacti not