Succulent Soil Composition

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
WayneByerly
Location: In the north end of the Sequachee Valley, 65 miles north of Chattanooga Tennessee USA. Zone 7a

Succulent Soil Composition

Post by WayneByerly »

I've been growing succulents, mostly cactus, for several years now ... I started in 2009 ... that makes me a newbie I guess. In this time, the information I've collected tells me that the following formulation might be a good one for growing Cacti, Caudiciforms and other succulents in General.

Members: If you have the time, please examine this "formula" and give me your opinion/thoughts/ideas/criticisms. I will appreciate any and everything that anyone MIGHT be able to inform me on/correct me with.

My Soilless Mixture Succulent Growing Medium

-- (1 part) Miracle Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix [sphagnum peat moss, (one or more of the following: processed forest products, peat and/or compost), coir, perlite, fertilizer and a wetting agent]
..... to provide SOME organic material but in big enough pieces as to assist drainage.

-- (1 part) equal amounts of 1/4" black lava rock and 1/4" red lava rock ... two kinds ... just for decorative reasons.
..... the stuff that grows in Hawaii is verdant beyond belief. My firm opinion is that this is because they are growing in a lava rock enriched environment with all the mineral supplements that ANY growing thing could want. It's rough texture should also assist in drainage, aeration and water retention.

-- (1 part) coir
..... what i have read about this is that I could use it by itself, and grow ... things ... successfully. It drains well, retains moisture to some extent, and inhibits the growth of many fungi from what I read. I have also read this coir lasts up to 4 times as long as peat.

-- (1 part) coarse sand