New to cacti and have many questions about repotting, soil..

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
oxygene

New to cacti and have many questions about repotting, soil..

Post by oxygene »

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to cacti and have been reading various websites and forums about cacti care, but there's so much information out there that has left me confused! I have several questions about cacti care - I hope they aren't too silly.

While I am new to cacti, I have owned six small cacti for a few months. I didn't do enough research as I should have and ended up killing off one of them and two more are damaged. :oops: I still have them, I just haven't repotted them.
tr2coPv.jpg
tr2coPv.jpg (141.74 KiB) Viewed 2731 times
caXmDv2.jpg
caXmDv2.jpg (119.92 KiB) Viewed 2731 times
I also have two larger cacti that I very recently bought from a grocery store. I have not repotted them yet. A few weeks ago, I repotted three of the small cacti plants into small ceramic pots.

These are the cacti:
3cacti.jpg
3cacti.jpg (120.54 KiB) Viewed 2731 times
2cacti.jpg
2cacti.jpg (65.41 KiB) Viewed 2731 times
This brings me to my questions:

Repotting: Are the repotted plants in appropriate-sized pots or are they too small? As for the two larger cacti, would 3" clay pots be okay? The mammillaria pringlei is about 3.5" tall and the mammillaria spinosissima is about 2.25" tall.

Soil: The three small cacti are in a mixture of Miracle Gro cactus soil and the soil they were originally grown in. I know now that peat is generally bad for cacti and Miracle Gro is usually not recommended!