Mammillaria Vetula ssp. Gracilis cv. Arizona Snowcap

Discuss repotting, soil, lighting, fertilizing, watering, etc. in this category.
singular9

Mammillaria Vetula ssp. Gracilis cv. Arizona Snowcap

Post by singular9 »

Hey Everyone.
Im new to the whole cactus world. My dad had a huge collection in the USSR but here in america he didnt, and he told me about it and i kinda wanted to try.

In home depot, i bought (for now red) Arizona Snowcap...ill just call it that because the name is super long. (mammillaria Vetula Gracilis Arizona snowcap)

I have went on google and looked up its natural habitat but i havent found any tips on how to care for it.
How much water, temperature, lighting, fertilizer etc...what do i need to know to care for this little guy.

Its current habitat:
68-70 degrees Fahrenheit
Sits by the window so its a bit colder there. Gets about 5 hours of sun in the morning. I gave him a little bit of water. Just a little. My dad told me cacti dont need the amount of water plants do. He (the cactus has 3 individual heads) sits in a plastic pot that sits inside a ceramic one. Ill try to post pictures soon. He has drainage although so far no water has actually drained out.
iann

Re: Mammillaria Vetula ssp. Gracilis cv. Arizona Snowcap

Post by iann »

It will need very little water in winter. They can go 4-6 months in winter completely dry, but indoors it will probably need occasional water. Probably best not to water any more for now. In summer you should water until the soil is completely soaked, then leave to to dry out completely. You can worry about fertiliser later, maybe next year.

What it probably does need is better soil. These things are grown in factories in the cheapest possible soil, but you'll struggle to keep them alive in it. You need something with better drainage. And possibly a slightly bigger pot if it is very cramped. With a hole in the bottom, because they shouldn't ever sit in water.