Is my cactus dying?

Trouble shoot problems you are having with your cactus.
voidable

Is my cactus dying?

Post by voidable »

Hello,

A newbie here. It is my first time owning a cactus. A friend of mine gave me a common cactus, one that is usually seen as decorations in receptions, etc. I gave the name Cici to the cactus.

Unfortunately, I think Cici is dying now. I don't know what I am doing wrong. Cici lives indoors but I always bring her out for a few hours to receive sunlight. I only give it little amount of water every other day for fear that it might drown if I water it too much.

This is what Cici looks like when she was given to me:

This is what she looks now:

The leaves on the bottom are dying. I don't know if I should remove them or let them stay.

Please help. Any tips on how to care for her will be much appreciated.

Thank you very much.
george76904

Re: Is my cactus dying?

Post by george76904 »

Ok few things I can see right off. Cici is not actually a cactus she is a succulent an enchevaria I think. I can see right off that cici isn't getting enough light. I understand that you like her indoors, but the skinnier growth on top shows that she needs more light. Also the watering, once every other day is way too much. Here in the US most plants are dormant for winter, but I don't know about the Philippines. In dormacy plants need next to no water, like once a month. Even during their growing periods I only water like once a week. Also I would recommend a soil change. There are many listed here on the forum do a search using the search bar to see some of them.
Pushrestart

Post by Pushrestart »

I second much of what George said. This is not a cactus, but rather an echeveria.
Two key things.