Areol grafts pups emerging from the stock

All about grafting. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
PhiloCacti

Areol grafts pups emerging from the stock

Post by PhiloCacti »

So last fall i grafted 4 areols ( 3 TBM, 1 "SS02 X pachanoi") mostly to SS02 X Bridgesii stock and 1 on a myrtillocactus. The stock was unrooted and i have never tried this before as i remember.

This spring all of the areols pupped but 2 of the 4 came out from beneath the areol from what seems like the core of the stock plant. This happened on the myrtillo stock and 1 of the "SS02 X Brodgesii" stocks.

I was wondering if this was normal?

Here are some pictures

this is how these pups emerge from beneath the areol, the stock is "SS02 X Bridgesii"

a few days later

this one emerged the same way and the stock is myrtillo

this one pupped normal and it's "SS02 X Pachanoi" grafted on "SS02 X Bridgesii"
gemhunter178

Re: Areol grafts pups emerging from the stock

Post by gemhunter178 »

Cool! some areole grafts do tend to do that. Still cool though!
A cactus and succulent collector who especially likes Ariocarpus. …Though I have a bit of everything! Want some pictures? See my flickr! I also do art and such.
phil_SK

Post by phil_SK »

The apical meristem of cacti is often buried lower down into the stem than it seems! I suspect that when you beheaded the stock you did so too high up to remove the apical meristem which has recovered.
m4rkz0r

Post by m4rkz0r »

phil_SK wrote:The apical meristem of cacti is often buried lower down into the stem than it seems! I suspect that when you beheaded the stock you did so too high up to remove the apical meristem which has recovered.

On the 3nd picture he posted he says the stock is a myrtillo stock. The pup emerging is clearly not a myrtillo pup so it must be growth from the grafted aereola. It certainly is strange to see though. I've grafted a few tricho aereolas and mine have never started growth like that. However...