Bare roots

Discuss hardy cacti grown outside all year.
Mike B.

Bare roots

Post by Mike B. »

Hey Guys, I'm rather new to this cactus growing. I live in SW Kansas and I believe I'm right on the border of zones 6a and 6b. I've order a few hardy, outdoor cacti and will they will be arriving any day now. I'm supposing they will come with a bare root. Any suggestions on the best way to get them planted this time of year. We are having an average high temp. of 90 and a low of 60 degrees. Should I water them after I get them in soil, or should I wait? Sorry if I sound ignorant about these things...but I am. Thanks for any advice!
Mike B.

Re: Bare roots

Post by Mike B. »

Well the cactus arrived yesterday afternoon. They were indeed bare root and wrapped in newspaper. I have planted them in some soil and they are sitting in the shade on the porch. I think I read somewhere that I should wait a few days before I give them a drink. So maybe by this week-end they'll be ready for a bit of water.

Any advice would sure be appreciated. Thanks.
SoilSifter

Post by SoilSifter »

What cacti did you order?

Might be unnecessary if the cacti were growing in full sun before you purchased them but I'd try putting the pots in a place where the plants will get some early morning and/or late afternoon sunlight. By doing that I've had less problems with sunburn and stress as I acclimate new plants to being outside.

I read your opening post earlier but thought you meant to plant your cacti in the ground. I've found that plants in general can have a harder Winter if they are in pots outside rather than planted in the ground but I don't know the weather of SW Kansas. I imagine you might get a lot of moisture during the Winter and that is deadly to some cold-hardy cacti. Keeping them in pots so you can move the plants up on the porch where they won't get moisture might work better than putting the cacti in the ground.