Dead man's fingers -- it's alive! Advice, please!

Anything relating to Cacti or CactiGuide.com that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
Steve Johnson

Dead man's fingers -- it's alive! Advice, please!

Post by Steve Johnson »

Back in December I purchased a Puna clavarioides from C and D Plants, and here's what arrived on my doorstep:

I've been keeping the plant in the same pumice-DG mix I use for the vast majority of my other cacti. Nice thing about the soil-less mineral aggregate is that I can easily pop it out and check to see if there's any sign of activity coming from the taproot. After periodic checks since the beginning of March, here's what I saw today:

Oh yeah, that's a new root! Since this is the case, I'll leave the Puna alone and let it continue rooting. I have zero experience with the species, so I don't know what the normal root growth rate should be. For those of you who know more about P. clavarioides, I'd appreciate any advice you can offer on how long I should wait until mine will be ready to accept water. Even then my guess is that it should be light watering at first, followed by proper soaks after the roots have grown in more. Thoughts, anyone?
If you just want photos without all the blather, please visit my Flickr gallery.
My location: Los Angeles, CA (Zone 10b)
DaveW

Re: Dead man's fingers -- it's alive! Advice, please!

Post by DaveW »

Puna clavaroides is a tuberous rooted species Steve. Therefore when you first plant it it may appear to stand still for a year or so with virtually no top growth because all the growth will be taking place below the ground in forming a tuber, therefore don't worry it will eventually grow. My plant below originally came to me as an unrooted cutting about the same size as yours.
Opuntia clavaroides.jpg
Opuntia clavaroides.jpg (72.25 KiB) Viewed 2054 times
Steve Johnson

Post by Steve Johnson »