Re-rooting Maihueniopsis -- advice, please!

Anything relating to Cacti or CactiGuide.com that doesn't fit in another category should be posted under General.
Steve Johnson

Re-rooting Maihueniopsis -- advice, please!

Post by Steve Johnson »

Very unusual cactus, hard to find here in the US -- and I may have the opportunity to acquire a Maihueniopsis (AKA Puna) clavarioides. If this happens, it'll come from C and D, but unfortunately the plant lost its roots. I'll have to try and re-root the clavarioides when the growing season begins, and since I have zero experience with the species, I'd like some advice on the mix that'll be appropriate to the nature of its root behavior. These are my options:

1. Pumice-decomposed granite mix -- fairly coarse mineral aggregate with grain sizes ranging mostly from 1/32" to 3/16". I thoroughly rinse the mix before I use it, so this is a truly soil-less mix. Works incredibly well for the vast majority of the cacti I have in my colection.

2. 50/50 pumice-soil mix -- soil-less mix won't support the very fine roots of my Tephros, but they really perked up once I made the change.

3. Pumice-DG with some soil mixed in -- mineral-to-soil ratio is about 80/20. I use it for my Melocactus matanzanus and 2 Discocactus (buenekeri and crystallophilus).

If someone with solid experience growing M. clavarioides can tell me which one of these mixes should work best, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
If you just want photos without all the blather, please visit my Flickr gallery.
My location: Los Angeles, CA (Zone 10b)
Robb

Re: Re-rooting Maihueniopsis -- advice, please!

Post by Robb »

I haven't had any experience with the species in question, but I would be leaning towards the 50/50 ratio. A member of my local CSS society grows the species quite well using a similar mix to this one. His mixture consists of a 65:35 mixture of large grade pumice and regular potting grade soil.
Hope this helps!
Buying a cactus a day will keep the madness away.