Moss in soil, is it harmful?

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
Andrew Farrell

Moss in soil, is it harmful?

Post by Andrew Farrell »

Hi all, I've been growing some Espostoa hylaea seeds using the bag method and since this is my first time I must have messed something up. Some type of moss or algae is growing on the soil where my little seedlings are planted. Is this something I should worry about or is it not harmful? It doesn't look anything like mold, it looks exactly like your typical green moss you'd see on trees.
Aiko

Re: Moss in soil, is it harmful?

Post by Aiko »

The moss itself is not harmful. I have much moss growing in the pots of my winter active plants. But the reason behind why there is moss should be a bit more warning: too much moist for too long. For winter active plants during winter even hardly a big problem (winter active plants can cope much better with excessive moist than winter dormant plants), but for an Espostoa you might like to keep the soil much dryer. Allow the pots of the seedlings to dry out completely between waterings.
Andrew Farrell

Post by Andrew Farrell »

Aiko wrote:The moss itself is not harmful. I have much moss growing in the pots of my winter active plants. But the reason behind why there is moss should be a bit more warning: too much moist for too long. For winter active plants during winter even hardly a big problem (winter active plants can cope much better with excessive moist than winter dormant plants), but for an Espostoa you might like to keep the soil much dryer. Allow the pots of the seedlings to dry out completely between waterings.