Brooklyn's Seed Growing Journey

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
brooklynbridge24

Brooklyn's Seed Growing Journey

Post by brooklynbridge24 »

Hi all. I've been reading member's seed growing stories for a while now and it's inspired me to grow my own cacti and succulents from seed. So a bit about myself, I'm 19 and live in student dormitories during the university term but move back home during holidays. This makes space and transport a bit of a problem with my plants, so growing seedlings while at uni means I'll still be able to keep some of my plants with me. I bought my first cacti in June last year so I'm fairly new to growing cacti and succulents and might make quite a few novice mistakes. I'd really appreciate any advice or comments on what I might be doing wrong and how I can fix it. Hope you you find my journey a little interesting...

So living in Australia makes buying seeds a little difficult for me. I have no idea what the laws are for buying seeds from overseas so I played it safe and bought from OzCactus and OzLithops. I ordered the following on the 22nd of April:

OzCactus
- Aloinopsis luckhoffii
- Aloinopsis malherbei
- Aloinopsis rosulata
- Astrophytum capricorne
- Astrophytum myriostigma
- Astrophytum ornatum
- Cheiridopsis peculiaris
- Echinocactus grusonii v. albispinus
- Ferocactus coloratus
- Ferocactus glaucescens
- Ferocactus latispinus
- Gymnocalycium baldianum
- Gymnocalycium chubutense
- Gymnocalycium saglionis
- Mammillaria candida
- Mammillarai hahniana
- Mammillaria plumosa
- Mammillaria Zeilmanniana

OzLithops
- Conophytum limpidum
- Conophytum maughanii
- Conophytum simplum
- Conophytum violaciflorum

My setup is very simple. I used round plastic takeaway containers approximately 7cm wide and 4cm deep and placed 11 of these in a plastic tub with a lid to make transportation easier and avoid any being knocked over.