The windowsill adventure of my seeds

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
MagiCarpus

The windowsill adventure of my seeds

Post by MagiCarpus »

Hi all, first a little intro about myself... I am a complete novice when it comes to starting cacti from seeds. I live in a student dormitory with 3' x 6' window facing the South. My first ever batch of seeds were germinated with the baggy method. Here I'd like to share my journey and my concerns regarding these little guys. Hope all you experts out there can spill some wisdoms :)

A) M. matanzanus

sown June 23rd
germination rate: I'm guessing 95% (25+ seedlings) for this one, as I didn't count the number of seeds I sowed.
Growing well, but algae is spreading across the medium, should that be a concern?

B) L. williamsii var. Big Bend

sown July 8th
germination rate: 73% (8/11)
I've noticed few of the seedlings have toppled over, lying on their sides since germination. I hope that's normal and that they will correct their position after having grown larger. Also, based on the coloration, are they receiving too much sun?

C) O. macdougallii

sown July 8th
germination rate 82% (9/11)
They look great but appear to be growing much slower than the other species, barely showing their first areoles.

D) E. rigidissimus var rubrispinus

sown July 8th
germination rate: 100% (14/14)
The most robust of the 4 species, these guys are beautiful :D I wonder if the red coloration comes in much later, as these still look lush green.
I suck at identification :dontknow:
greenknight

Re: The windowsill adventure of my seeds

Post by greenknight »

You're doing very well. The algae is not a problem, and the light level appears to be fine. Some seedlings tipping over is normal.

E. rigidissimus var rubrispinus will develop red spines when much larger, the plant body normally is green.
Spence :mrgreen:
MagiCarpus

Post by MagiCarpus »