Windowsill seed raising - Small Cacti and Mesembs

All about seed grown plants. How-to information, progress reports, show of your results.
IrisA

Windowsill seed raising - Small Cacti and Mesembs

Post by IrisA »

Hello from Canada!

I am a long time lurker of this board, it has been a great source of information and inspiration. I've been growing cacti and succulents from seed for about 3 years now and have finally gotten my act together enough to post something. As far as cacti and succulent tastes go I lean towards anything small round and weird, so I've been trying to grow a mix of mesembs, and small globular cacti with a few agaves and miscellaneous others etc. thrown in.

A bit about my conditions: they aren't great but I get by; I live in an apartment outside Vancouver BC. I have one east facing window with partial exposure that I supplement currently with 2 t5s. In the summer, I put some of the hardier stuff outside on a covered balcony where they get considerably more exposure light, at the cost of considerably more exposure to birds. A greenhouse is a distant dream for the future. In spite of this though I do get the odd thing to flower.

Here are some select pics of a few things I have going:

Mixed conophytum seedlings - I just wanted to test the waters and see if I could keep any type of cono/winter grower alive so I just got went with the mix. All the survivors look pretty similar to this. These guys were sown in late fall of last year and went dormant for a good few months during our unusually hot summer, they came back in September or so. I water when they wrinkle approx. monthly

Monilaria pisiformis -These were a favourite of mine and I am very excited that 2 survived their first dormancy. I'd appreciate any advice on these guys, would really like to keep them going