Repotting Advice

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
BriarSaffron

Repotting Advice

Post by BriarSaffron »

Hello,

I was just looking for advice, as I am fairly new to caring for succulents.

I have a few cacti and succulents that have outgrown their pots and so need repotting. I have managed to find some pots which are the perfect diameter, but unfortunately, they are quite deep. I would like to ask:

1st - If it is possible for the soil in a pot to ever be too deep for a succulent and

2nd - As I would like to save on soil, if there is anything that I could put on the bottom so I do not have to use so much? E.g. sand, gravel etc. One of the cacti I bought came in a pot that had a plastic tray underneath. I did remove this and add soil (as in this case it was so high up it gave the roots hardly any room to grow) but could this be an option for my new pots if it was lower down?

If, of course, it's better to just fill the whole pot with soil I would be happy to do so as my plants come first :wink:

I greatly appreciate your help!
Ron43

Re: Repotting Advice

Post by Ron43 »

Message deleted.
Last edited by Ron43 on Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
esp_imaging

Post by esp_imaging »

It's generally not recommended to have c&S in pots which are too large, as they tend to dry out more slowly. You could use large stones or pebbles in the base of the posts to reduce the amount of compost you use, which would help the pots dry out quicker. Mix the stones with the compost you use, so there isn't an abrupt transition from pure compost to pure stones.
A small diverse collection of Cacti & Succulents
Based in the UK
http://www.edwardshaw.co.uk/cacti
greenknight

Post by greenknight »