what's going on with these lithops?

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
tomo

what's going on with these lithops?

Post by tomo »

I just ordered these lithops (and a few others), they were shipped to me bare roots and I repotted them today. I'm a beginner with lithops so I thought I'd post pics and ask for advice.

First up is the lesliei albinica. I guess it's normal for them to split like that? It's really cool looking! Since it's lost it's papery shell, should I start watering soon?

Next is the helmutii...it looks like there is a plant...inside a plant...inside a plant?! Like I said, total beginner here, so maybe this is all ho-hum normal but was curious what was going on, when to start watering, etc. :D
Attachments
lithop lesliei albinica mar 2015 roots.jpg
lithop lesliei albinica mar 2015 roots.jpg (48.76 KiB) Viewed 4371 times
lithop lesliei albinica mar 2015 repotted 1.jpg
lithop lesliei albinica mar 2015 repotted 1.jpg (67.01 KiB) Viewed 4371 times
lithop helmutii Mar 2015 repotted.jpg
lithop helmutii Mar 2015 repotted.jpg (95.64 KiB) Viewed 4371 times
iann

Re: what's going on with these lithops?

Post by iann »

The Lithops lesliei isn't the greatest plant I've ever seen but looks pretty healthy. You got two for the price of one. You can tell from the flower that it was single last year, but now you have two heads. Hopefully two flowers in the autumn. Plant it, give it a couple of weeks since it might just have lost all its fine roots, and then you can water.