Sempervivum is mushy, soft

Use this forum to get advice on growing succulents and keeping them healthy
Jen8754

Sempervivum is mushy, soft

Post by Jen8754 »

Hi,
I recently acquired a baby Sempervivum (I'm pretty sure it's a Sempervivum atlanticum but not 100% sure) and it was doing great indoors. But my cat kept nibbling it so I had to move it to outdoors. I also transplanted it from the container it was in, to a new one with new soil (Miracle-Gro soil mix for cacti and succulents). I am watering it about once a week and not very much water at a time. Right away after being brought outdoors the leaves went from nice and firm to soft and getting mushy. Could it be too much sun/heat? Too much or too little water?
Indoors it was getting about 3 hours of direct sunlight and then rest of the day it was getting indirect sunlight. Outside it was in full sun for a day or two, then I put it under a bush for some shade from the midday sun.
This is my first Sempervivum so I have no experience with them. They do grow outdoors year-round here so maybe it was just too many big changes all at once?
What should I do to it now so it will live and not die? :?
Attachments
semp 1 small file.jpg
semp 1 small file.jpg (100.64 KiB) Viewed 4070 times
semp 2 small file.jpg
semp 2 small file.jpg (65.74 KiB) Viewed 4070 times
JamesEG

Re: Sempervivum is mushy, soft

Post by JamesEG »

Maybe it's over potted? It does look like a big pot for a small plant! That would mean that the soil doesn't dry out fully between watering so it could be over watered. But as you said it could just be lots of changes at once, normally people recommend that when moving a plant into more light you do it gradually and build it up.

Since I'm not too experienced I would wait until a more experienced member also replies, just in case I'm wrong! ](*,)

I hope this helps!
Jen8754

Post by Jen8754 »